Wk 8 – Art Activity – Sketching at the Japanese Garden

This was the first time I had gone to see the Japanese Garden at school and I was definitely missing out! I had only seen pictures from other students on Instagram but it’s so much nicer in person, even though it was gloomy on Wednesday. I can only imagine how it will be in the Spring.

Sketching at the garden was actually pretty soothing. I sat with a few classmates but we weren’t really talking. All of us were so focused on our sketching so it was quite and relaxing. I used to draw a lot when I was younger so this activity brought me back to those days. I used to stare at something, anything and I would try to draw it. It was challenging though because when I draw, I like to incorporate detail and I like to mimic it exactly. This is what made sketching difficult. Sketching is more of a quick and easy thing. I took too much time trying to make my drawings look exact so I couldn’t resist erasing. This made it frustrating but sitting there in silence, looking at my view and drawing was pretty calming. Maybe I should do this more often…

Leave a Reply

